special guest Steve Hackett
Summer Storms
and Rocking Rivers

The band borrowed the title from Steve Hackett’s tour blog in which the guitar legend describes his wanderings with his Hungarian friends across Russia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Serbia, Austria and Hungary. The double album was recorded in Bratislava during the tour of 2011.


SKU: EANTCD 21065 Categories: ,


The Djabe special guest Steve Hackett live recordings from 2011 Bratislava released on double vinyl only in 2013 by Gramy Records. In 2017 Esoteric Antenna, label of Cherry Red Records releases it on CD + DVD box in extended version. The CD contains 78 minutes version of the gig plus the Los Endos from the 2012 Budapest show with Gulli Briem (Mezzoforte) in the line-up. The DVD contains the full show and documentary from the 2011 summer tour with other extras.
Released February 24, 2017. Esoteric Antenna is delighted to announce the release of a live album by legendary guitarist Steve Hackett and the gifted Hungarian group Djabe. A wonderful live CD/DVD (NTSDC – region free) album from acclaimed former Genesis member & solo artist Steve Hackett with Hungarian band Djabe recorded live is Bratislava & Budapest. DVD includes a full concert and bonus documentary, promotional video of “Tears for Peace” & live extras. “Summer Storms and Rocking Rivers” was captured at a concert in Bratislava in July 2011 and a concert in Budapest in November 2012. The music within this release features well known Steve Hackett solo material such as The Steppes and Ace of Wands, alongside legendary Genesis material such as Firth of Fifth, Blood on the Rooftops, In That Quiet Earth and Los Endos. Djabe formed twenty years ago and are one of Hungary’s most acclaimed Jazz groups in the world. Playing a fascinating fusion of jazz and rock styles and featuring a line-up of Ferenc Kovács (vocals, trumpet, violin), Zoltán Kovács (keyboards), Attila Égerházi (guitar, percussion), Tamás Barabás (bass guitar) and Szilárd Banai (drums), Djabe have performed many concerts globally since 2002. In 2007 they began their association with Steve Hackett, who has appeared on the concert stage with them, performing both Djabe material and Genesis and Hackett solo material. At the Garana Jazz Festival in Romania, Steve Hackett & Djabe performed to an audience of 13,000 people, and now Summer Storms & Rocking Rivers captures wonderfully the magic of this collaboration on stage. The DVD included in this two disc set features a concert in Bratislava in July 2011 and also includes bonus features of a short documentary, the piece Jacuzzi / Overnight Sleeper, recorded in November 2013 with the Hungarian Symphony Orchestra and the promotional video of the song Tears for Peace.

Steve Hackett – vocal, guitar
Kovács Ferenc – vocal, trumpet, violin
Kovács Zoltán – keyboards
Égerházi Attila – guitar, percussion
Barabás Tamás – bass guitar
Banai Szilárd – drums

Additional information

Weight 250 g


Number of discs


Release date




Disc one: CD
1. City Of Habi
2. The Steppes
3. Butterfly
4. Scenes – Above Poland
5. Scenes – Sunset At The Seaside
6. Horizons
7. Ace Of Wands
8. Flowers Stillness
9. Rush For Ménes
10. Strange Places
11. Last Train To Istanbul
12. Firth Of Fifth
13. Summer Rain
14. In That Quiet Earth
15. Distant Dance
16. Los Endos

Disc two: DVD
1. City Of Habi
2. The Steppes
3. Dark Soup
4. Butterfly
5. Scenes – Above Poland
6. Scenes – Sunset At The Seaside
7. Steve’s acoustic set:
Classical Gas
Blood On The Rooftops
8. Ace Of Wands
9. Firth Of Fifth
10. Last Train To Istanbul
11. Summer Storms
12. Rocking Rivers
13. Rush For Ménes
14. Strange Places
15. Rush For Ménes Reprise
16. Summer Rain
17. In That Quiet Earth
18. Distant Dance

Bonus features
1. Jacuzzi/Overnight Sleeper
recorded on 10th november, 2013 in Miskolc, Hungary
2. Tears For Peace (promotional video)
recorded and filmed 2012 in Budapest, Hungary
3. Rocking Summer Roads: Documentary including
the Steppes – live in Debrecen, 16th july 2011
Scenes – live in Debrecen, 16th july 2011
Los Endos closing section – live in Budapest, 30th november 2012