New Djabe album released inspired by paintings of Imre Égerházi

Djabe – The Magic Stag (CD/DVD)
CD/DVD, 6-page DIGIPAK, 32-page-booklet
Cherry Red Records / Esoteric Recordings, EANTCD21085

Uniquely among Hungarian bands, Djabe releases their 5th album in England within 4 years. This time, the album will not be released under the name Djabe & Steve Hackett by the world-renowned Cherry Red Records, but exclusively under Djabe. With this, the band takes a huge step forward in gaining his rightful place in the international music scene.

The above does not mean that Steve would not be on the album, as the concept of the album and the lyrics of the title song are his and his wife’s creation. The creative Hackett couple were inspired by Imre Égerházi’s painting, titled Hungarian Myths and Legends to write The Magic Stag. Tamás Barabás and Attila Égerházi selected the additional paintings in the album, to which the individual compositions can be linked.

The album contains 11 compositions, of which 9 were composed by Tamás Barabás alone and one with Attila Égerházi. The final piece of the album, Uncertain Time, is a work by Égerházi. Among the creators there is also Barna Pély, who wrote the lyrics of the other song with vocal, Down By The Lakeside.

Cherry Red Records will release the album under the new record label, Esoteric Recordings, on September 25, 2020. The publisher is characterized by particularly high-quality and exclusive physical formats. In addition to the CD, the elegant paper case, the so-called digipak package, includes a DVD that contains the entire material of the album in high-definition (24bit / 96kHz) surround and stereo sound, as well as concert videos recorded on the band’s 2019 tour, an April 2020 quarantine video and a brand new documentary about the painter Imre Égerházi.

The record label also notes that Djabe is one of the finest Progressive / Jazz fusion bands working in the world today. They are also known to a wider audience outside of their native land thanks to a series of collaborative albums and live appearances with the legendary solo musician and ex-Genesis member STEVE HACKETT.

DJABE features Tamás Barabás (bass guitar), Attila Égerházi (acoustic and electric guitar, percussion), Áron Koós-Hutás (flugelhorn, trumpet), János Nagy (keyboards) and Péter Kaszás (drums, lead vocal) and their music contains influences from progressive rock, jazz and world music. Their new album is inspired by the work of the painter, Imre Égerházi (father of Attila Égerházi).

By the new millennium Imre Égerházi was regarded as one of the Hungarian Great Plain’s leading masters. He had gained great recognition in Hungary and beyond its borders for his art and his organizational work in the world of art. He also did much for artistic communities and colleagues. His work and life inspired the musicians to create “THE MAGIC STAG”.

STEVE HACKETT not only co-wrote the lyrics of the album’s title track with his wife JO HACKETT, but he also plays guitar on seven of the album tracks and acts as narrator. The album also features guest ROB TOWNSEND on tenor saxophone (also from Steve Hackett’s band). Tar genius Malik Mansurov also plays on several tracks, whilst former Djabe members, Ferenc Muck and Tibor Karvaly also contribute. László Szabó also adds his magical Sitar playing to the album.

“THE MAGIC STAG”, is a celebration of the legend of the mystic Hungarian deer, the myths and legends of the Magyars and the paintings of Imre Égerházi. This deluxe digipak release also includes a DVD, featuring high resolution 5.1 Surround Sound and Stereo mixes of the album, along with some live video extras and a documentary. The set also features a 32-page booklet with paintings by Imre Égerházi.

In the case of Djabe, it is only natural that the album will also be released on vinyl. The double LP is expected by the end of November. Side 4 of the album will also feature an extra composition and a 2019 concert recording.

Analogue fans can also rejoice as The Magic Stag will also be available on 2-track studio tape and 4-track Hi-Fi tape, from the end of September.

Tamás Barabás – bass guitar
Attila Égerházi – guitar, percussion
Áron Koós-Hutás – flugelhorn, trumpet
János Nagy – keyboards
Péter Kaszás – drums, vocal

Guest musicians
Steve Hackett – guitar, storytelling
Rob Townsend – saxophone
Malik Mansurov – tar
Ferenc Muck – saxophone
László Szabó – sitar, guitar
Tibor Karvaly – violin
Sára Kovács – flute
Éva Kozma – koboz

Disc One: CD
The Magic Stag

1. The Beginning Of Legends
2. The Magic Stag
3. The Power Of Wings
4. Down By The Lake Side
5. Far Away
6. Unseen Sense
7. Soaring Hills
8. Two Little Snowflakes
9. A True Hope
10. Rising Horizon
11. Uncertain Time

Disc Two: DVD
“The Magic Stag” High Resolution 96 Khz / 24-Bit
5.1 Surround Sound & Stereo Mixes

1. The Beginning Of Legends (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
2. The Magic Stag (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
3. The Power Of Wings (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
4. Down By The Lake Side (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
5. Far Away (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
6. Unseen Sense (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
7. Soaring Hills (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
8. Two Little Snowflakes (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
9. A True Hope (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
10. Rising Horizon (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)
11. Uncertain Time (5.1 Surround Sound Mix)

Video Extras
1. Bubble Dream (Live In Washington D.C.)
2. Deep Lights (Live In Washington D.C.)
3. Witchi Tai To (Live In Lviv, Ukraine)
4. The Lost Card (Live In Lviv, Ukraine)
5. Gallop (With Steve Hackett) (Live In Budapest)
6. Coffee Break (Live In Budapest)
7. The Power Of Wings (With Steve Hackett) (Live In Budapest)
8. Lava Lamp – A Quarantine Video 2020
9. Imre Égerházi Documentary

Djabe – The Magic Stag (CD/DVD)
CD/DVD, 6-page DIGIPAK, 32-page-booklet
Cherry Red Records / Esoteric Recordings, EANTCD21085

Preorder available
CD edition release – 25th September

Djabe – The Magic Stag (2LP)
2 x 180 gr Vinyl LP
Gatefold Jacket, PVC Inner Sleeve, 2 Bonusz Tracks

The double vinyl edition of the forthcoming Djabe album The Magic Stag is now available to preorder with a release date of 27th November. The vinyl features all the tracks from the CD edition PLUS two extra tracks (both featuring Steve).